How to create Weldment Profile

1)    Start a new part and start a new sketch.
w1

2)    Give dimensions and fully constrain you sketch.
w2

3)    Exit sketch and select the sketch from the Feature Manger Tree.
w3

4)    Keeping your sketch selected, go to File > Save as
w4

5)    Change the file type to Lib Feat part (*.sldlfp)
w5

6)    Go to location C:\Program Files\SolidWorks\data\weldment profiles\ and create you own folder or use the exiting folders. You can also set you own location and map the path in the File Locations. I have created a folder “Test” and created another folder named “Pipe” inside the test folder. SW will list the levels of the directory as Standard/Type/Size. In this case Test is my standard, Pipe is my type and size is the file name.

7)    Give the file name as per your convenience. I have used 2.5OD x .125T.
w6

8)    Your file will look like this. Check for the green coloured L and the symbol. This indicates that this file is a SW library file.
w7

9)    For checking that everything has been done perfect, open a new part and draw a line. Exit sketch and go to Insert > Weldments > Structural Member.
w8

10)    Select Test as standard, Pipe as type and 2.5OD x .125T as size and then select the line. Select Ok.
w9

Perfect. You can now make your own customized weldment profiles.

5 thoughts on “How to create Weldment Profile

  1. Keith

    Nice tutorial!

    Using SW 2008 (sp5), I have no problem making flat bar profiles that work fine, the linked description sizes are there, but then I save as a library feature to a new “flat bar folder” in “ansi inch” and the description (sizes) disappear. The weldments profile works but I cannot get the sizes to appear on a cut sheet. I have even tried using other profiles and altering them with the same effect.
    I am so frustrated!

    Reply
      1. Deepak Gupta Post author

        Oliver, have you set the file properties for the profile? Can you email me one of the profile as I would like to test the issue myself.

        Sent you a test email for address.

        Reply
  2. Pingback: The CSWP – Weldment exam (SolidWorks)

I'll be happy to know your views and opinions as this will help me to improve. You can share them as comments below.

