Detailing a Multibody Part -1


Multibody Part. A part with separate bodies within the same part document

The tittle speaks up everything and I see many time people asking for it.  So here you go.

There can be several ways to detail out a multi body part.

Relative View method:

  1. Start a drawing and inert a view.
  2. Right click on the view and select Drawing Views > Relative View or click Relative View on the View toolbar or Insert > Drawing Views > Relative to Model.
  3. Make sure you have selected the view or you’ll be prompted to select a planar face of the model. To select, simple click on the view.
  4. The part will open up with Relative View property manager.
  5. Click on “Selected Bodies” and select the appropriate body you want to detail out.
  6. Select faces for Font and Right sides if you want to orient the views in different ways.
  7. Click OK to exit Relative View property manager and switch back to drawing mode.
  8. Place your view and any further views as required.
  9. Dimensions as required.

Assembly method:

Convert the multi body part to an assembly, then detail them as single part. Here is quick way to convert them in an assembly.Assembly from Part – No mates required

Reference Configuration and Bodies method:

  1. Start a new drawing.
  2. Right click on the sheet and select Drawing Views > Model View or click Model View on the View toolbar or Insert > Drawing Views > Model View.
  3. Click on browse and select the multi body part.
  4. You’ll be prompted to place the view but don’t click anywhere on the sheet. Click on “Select bodies” under Reference configuration. You mat change the configuration in case you have multiple configuration in that part.
  5. The part will open up with “Drawing View Bodies” property manager.
  6. Select the appropriate body you want to detail out.
  7. Click OK to exit Drawing View Bodies property manager and switch back to drawing mode.
  8. Select the view orientation as required.
  9. Place your view and any further views as required.
  10. Dimensions as required.

9 thoughts on “Detailing a Multibody Part -1

  1. Josh

    Hi. This is an interesting post. I was curious if you could comment on a problem we are having regarding multi-body detailing.

    We have many multi-body parts (weldments) with each body requiring detailing on a drawing. The problem we have run across is when any of those bodies are modified, Solidworks treats them as new or different bodies. This has the result of breaking our detail drawing views of the individual bodies.

    In addition, we are assigning part numbers to individual cut-list items and those also are changing when modifications are done to the weldment part.

    Reply
    1. Deepak Gupta Post author

      After you create the bodies, assign them a name or number and then those name/number will remain unaffected even if you modify the part (like adding a cut feature).

      Reply
  2. Chris Chastine

    OK, my curiosity got the better of me and I started wondering if there was a way to make a standard drawing view (already placed in a drawing) into a ‘relative view’. So I created a model and drawing similar to what you created and then placed a front view into the drawing – this view had both bodies shown. I selected the drawing view to see it’s properties and noticed an option to “Select Bodies” in the top of the Property Manager. When I clicked on that it opened the multi-body part model for me to select the bodies I want to show. I have never noticed this option before.
    It’s amazing what you can find if you look around a little… LOL
    Do you know of any advantages of doing it one way versus another?

    Reply
    1. Deepak Gupta Post author

      Actually you need a view to get a relative view 😉

      If you check my post, I have asked to insert a view and select it or select a view before getting further.

      Reply
    2. Eric

      What version of SW are you using? I’m on 2009 and I’m unable to find the ‘Select Bodies’ option.

      Reply
      1. Deepak Gupta Post author

        I’m using SW 2010 and 2011 but you should have the option in the SW2009 too. Can you post a picture or video or complete steps you have taken to try it.

        Reply
  3. Chris Chastine

    Deepak, thanks for talking about this. I can’t say I use multi-bodies very often so haven’t run across this issue – or if I have then I create different configurations to hide the body I didn’t want. Because I don’t deal with them much I didn’t realize there was a specific drawing view (relative view) that handled this topic. I will definitely pass this along to my co-workers.
    See you in San Antonio! :c)

    Reply

I'll be happy to know your views and opinions as this will help me to improve. You can share them as comments below.

